Making Homemade Yogurt Easily

July 29, 2011 at 9:47 am 1 comment

I have been making yogurt for several years. I started out making it in the crockpot, which usually worked, but occasionally was rather runny. Fortunately, I found a different way to make yogurt that is even easier and works more consistently. So my new way to make yogurt is based on this version from Heavenly Homemakers.

you will need:
1/2 gallon whole milk
6oz plain yogurt
sugar or other sweetener
vanilla
thermometer
3 quart size jars
coolers

Divide the plain yogurt between the 3 quart jars. add 1/8c plus half of 1/8c cup sugar (I use organic evaporated cane juice) per jar. add approximately 1/2t vanilla per jar.

Heat milk on the stove to just under 100 degrees. I whisk it to make sure it heats evenly.

Add milk to each jar, keeping it evenly divided. Using a mini whisk, mix the yogurt, milk, sugar, and vanilla well. Place lid on each jar.

Place the jars in coolers. I cannot fit all three jars into one cooler, so I place one jar in one cooler and two jars in another cooler. Fill up each cooler with very hot water, but do not cover the lid.

Leave yogurt in coolers for at least 8 hours. After 8 hours, place the jars into the fridge. More than 8 hours is okay also. I once forgot about my yogurt and left it in the coolers overnight, after it already had set for 8 hours and it was just right.

Sometimes I will not add any sugar when making the yogurt. When ready to serve, I will mix in a small amount of maple syrup or jam to sweetened it.

Chobani is my first choice of yogurt. It does not have any added hormones. I used to use Dannon yogurt, and it worked well, but read that Dannon uses genetically modified ingredients. I contacted Dannon about this and they would not answer my question in an email, but requested that I call them. I didn’t really want to deal with a phone call, just preferred a simple email answer, so I didn’t call them.

Entry filed under: Do It Yourself, Food, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Bzz Agent – Covergirl Natureluxe foundation J.R.R. Tolkien by Mark Horne – Book Review

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kat  |  July 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    Oh wow, so that’s how you can make your own yogurt! How awesome and way better than buying from the stores! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

