Love You More by Jennifer Grant – Book Review

August 24, 2011 at 9:18 pm 1 comment

Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting my Daughter by Jennifer Grant is Grant’s in depth story about adopting her daughter from Guatemala. I received this book from BookSneeze for free to review. I chose this book because I am also an adoptive parent, and had never read any books about someone’s adoption journey. (I had read books about adoption, with some information about personal adoption stories, but they were definitely not full of details like this book.)

This book is nicely structured, divided into three parts: Part 1: Starting the Journey, Part 2: Waiting for Mia, Part 3: Learning to Know. Jennifer’s story began before she and her husband were married, and therefore, I felt, gave a better understanding of their relationship and how events transpired into their adoption process. So often, her comments were very easy for me to relate to, such as recalling the various aspects of paperwork, wondering where our child was, and when they would finally be able to join our family.

I enjoyed Love You More and recommend it to anyone who has adopted, is interested in adopting a child, or wants to learn more about adoption in general. It is a fast read, descriptive, and written well; Grant is a journalist. Although adoption procedures vary from country to country, this story will give you a good feel about how it all works.

Jennifer Grant is a Christian and shared throughout the story how her faith helped her in various situations. She is easy to relate to and understand. I am glad I had this opportunity to read this book and share with others my thoughts on this story. I hope it helps people have a clearer understanding of adoption, and possibly nudge more to consider adopting or caring for orphans.

Entry filed under: Book Review, Books. Tags: .

J.R.R. Tolkien by Mark Horne – Book Review Vigilante – Book Review

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Keri  |  September 12, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    I loved this book. As you said, the first section really talked about the author and her husband, and how they were highly intentional about creating a loving family culture. It made me think about how I am raising my children.
    I found the whole exploration of adoption (not backing away from some of the controversy) fascinating. Overall, I think Love You More is great resource for anyone contemplating becoming a parent, whether via adoption or birth.
    It’s a well-told, beautifully-written story of what it really means to be a family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

