Pick Your Own

June 24, 2008 at 10:59 pm 1 comment

Today my son and I went shopping with my mom and my sister. Shenk’s Berry Farm is very close to my parents house, so after shopping, we picked some red and black raspberries. The raspberries are $3.65/lb and are a better deal by picking them myself than buying them at the store. For the most part, as long as you are not driving too far to pick the fruit, you can save money if you are able to pick your own. This farm is definitely not near by house, but I decided that since I was in the area, I would pick what I could.

Stauffer’s Fruit Farm (430 Panorama Drive, Denver, PA – (717) 445-6977) has cherries this week. Pick your own for $.90/ lb. I checked their location on mapquest and it’s 11 miles away. So depending on how many pounds of cherries I pick, it may or may not be worth my while.

I came across this website that has some information about pick your own places in the Lancaster area. I have not checked into the places on this website, so I cannot guarantee you can pick your own. Please send me any information on pick your own farms in the Lancaster area.

My plan (tomorrow) is to make some freezer black raspberry jam. I hope it turns out! Making your own jam is both cheaper than store bought jam and is usually healthier, since less preservatives are added.

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: .

Deals This Week: 6/22-6/28 Coupons

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  June 25, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Hey trish. I totally love that you are doing this. I wish I had time to do it also. I want to praise you for being so frugal. Good work. Can’t wait to visit this new blog again and again. Are you wanting this blog to be passed on to anyone or just to people you know?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

June 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

