Canning and Freezing

July 2, 2008 at 10:04 pm Leave a comment

My mom came over today to freeze blueberries. My (secondary) grocery store is selling 20 cases of blueberries for $29.99 ($1.50/lb). I picked up one box for my family and two boxes for my mom. (My dad just loves blueberries. He normally buys a large bag of frozen blueberries from Costco, but they cost over $2/lb; so it was a savings for my mom to freeze these herself.)

I made two batches of canned blueberry jam while my mom started freezing the blueberries. This was the first time I made blueberry jam, so I hope it turns out well. Personally, I am not a huge blueberry fan, but my husband is. He will enjoy the jam and frozen blueberries. Some of the jars of jam I will plan to give as gifts.

It took less than 3 hours to wash, bag, and freeze almost 60 lb of blueberries, which didn’t seem too bad. I also my the jam and cleaned up.

If you enjoy fruit, I highly recommend looking for good deals on fruit and freezing it, so you can use the fruit year round. And try to find a friend or relative to can or freeze with. Things go much faster and it gives time for talking too.

Last year was the first year I tried canning. My mother-in-law showed me how and let me use her canner (which I still have at my house; she doesn’t really use it anymore). I canned peaches and apple pie filling.

This year I canned some strawberry daiquiri jam which didn’t quite turn out as I had hoped. I either misread or misunderstood the directions and ended up with twice the amount of jam that the recipe was supposed to yield, which is why it’s a bit runny. It tastes good, but isn’t very strong. We used it as a topping on waffles, and it could work for sandwiches too. I am planning to can peaches and hopefully pears this summer. Perhaps I will do some apple butter and pumpkin butter this fall.

Every year I freeze corn and applesauce. I still have some corn leftover, so I could probably make a little less this year. (Unfortunately, I do not remember how much corn I did last year…I hope my mom remembers.) The applesauce did not last long enough, so I want to freeze more of that this year.

I love trying new recipes. Do you have any favorite canning recipes to share?

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , .

Do-it-Yourself Catering The Children’s Place Outlet Deals

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

