Healthy Snacks

July 4, 2008 at 12:23 pm 2 comments

Healthy eating is something I have been trying to do for most of my life. As I read more and more about preservatives and other unhealthy foods, I try harder to find healthy and cheap alternatives for both meals and snacks. Passionate Homemaking posted a article on Healthy Snack Ideas earlier this week. Check it out for recipes, ideas and links for healthy snacks.

Here are some of my favorite healthy snacks.

Peanut Butter Balls (or bars)
2 cups peanut butter
1/2 cup honey
1 1/2 cup toasted wheat germ
1 1/2 cup powdered milk

Mix ingredients together. Form into 1 inch balls or spread into a pan.
The more natural the peanut butter, the healthier your snack will be. (At this point, I still am using Peter Pan creamy peanut butter and I know it has partially hydrogenated oil in it. My plan is to finish using the jars of PB I have and then begin purchasing organic PB. Costco has some and the only ingredients are peanuts and salt.)
Yield: 38-40 balls


Peanut Butter Granola
1/3 cup butter or oil
1/3 cup peanut butter
1/3 cup honey
2 1/2 cup uncooked oats

Melt butter, peanut butter and honey together in a saucepan; remove from heat and stir in oats. Bake on a cookie sheet about 15 minutes at 350 degrees, or until golden. Cool and store in an airtight container in refrigerator. Serve as cereal with milk, by itself, or grind into crumbs to be used as a crust.
The first time I made this, I used butter. My mom makes granola all the time and uses extra virgin olive oil; so I used EVOO the next time I made and it and turned out well, I could not tell a difference.
Yield: 4 cups


Strawberry/Orange/Banana Smoothie
frozen strawberries
banana
orange juice
flavored yogurt (optional)

Put all ingredients in blender and puree to desired consistency. Other fruit combinations can be used. (This is my favorite combination.)


Banana Bread
2 or 3 large bananas, ripe and smashed
1 1/2 cup sugar (as little as 3/4 cup also works)
2 eggs
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 tsp salt
2 cup flour (1 c white + 1 c wheat, or all white)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup milk
1 T vinegar

Grease pan. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine ingredients in order listed.
Using 9×13 inch pan, bake for 35 minutes;
using a bundt pan, bake for 45 minutes;
using cupcake pan, bake for 15-20 minutes;
using a bread tube, bake for 55 minutes.
Can add 1/2 cup nuts or raisins.
I have used applesauce instead of butter.


Other ideas: peanut butter and bananas, peanut butter and celery, or yogurt.

A friend of mine recommended two cookbooks to me recently More-with-Less (World Community Cookbook) and Simply in Season (World Community Cookbook). I have not yet purchased these books yet, but plan to soon. Amazon has the best prices for these books that I have found. And if you purchase $25+ at Amazon, you will receive free shipping.

Entry filed under: Food, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

The Children’s Place Outlet Deals Saving at the Mall and Outlets

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

