Is Your Makeup Safe?

July 13, 2008 at 7:35 pm 1 comment

Last year I stumbled upon a website that tests and rates the safety of many brands of makeup, shampoo, conditioner and other toiletries. It was quite shocking to see that what seems like the majority of makeup is harmful to our bodies and skin. I recall taking back some makeup I had purchased a CVS because I checked the rating at this website and found it to be harmful. But it was very hard to find items that were considered “safe” or had a “low hazard” rating. To be honest, I tried to buy safer products, but that faded after a short time. It just seemed so hard to find products that were not super expensive and safe. And I wondered if it would really make a difference.

Last week, I read an entry at Handprints on the Wall that reminded me of this website. My plan is to try again to find cosmetics that will not be harmful to my body, but will fit into my budget. It’s so much easier to pick up items at the store, especially when they are on sale. For example, I am debating whether or not to buy Herbal Essences shampoo and conditioner at CVS this week and they have a “moderate hazard” rating… I have a coupon that will make them $1 each.

Another website I discovered last week is welcome to my brain.net. This person makes her own shampoo using baking soda, and then rinses with apple cider vinegar and water. Perhaps I should give this a try to see if it works for me. If it doesn’t, I can always go back to regular shampoo – preferably a “safe” kind. 🙂

Entry filed under: Health. Tags: .

$4.99 Shipping at ACMoore.com Menu Plan Monday: July 14-20

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  July 14, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Wow – interesting site about the makeup…. it looks like some of the higher scores are due to a lack of FDA info about the products. It’s an eye opener, to be sure. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

