Save Money on Milk, Eggs, and Butter

July 25, 2008 at 3:05 pm 1 comment

Earlier this year, my in-laws told us about a local place – Westfield Egg Farm that sells eggs for $.86/dozen. The eggs at my grocery store about double or more that price. So once a month, I go to this local place, a few miles away and get two trays of eggs, which is five dozen. This store also sells some bulk items for mostly good prices, as well as some cheese. So it’s worth our while to go to this place just to buy eggs.

Another way we are saving money is buying our milk at Lapp Valley Farm. They have a small store that sells milk, butter and ice cream – and the skim is currently $3/gallon. (I checked the price of skim at my grocery store this week, and it’s $3.74/ gallon.) We normally buy 3-4 gallons of milk each week, so again, it’s still a savings to purchase our milk at Lapp’s. They also have their own butter for $2/pound – I think it’s pasteurized (I know the milk is pasteurized). I have not yet purchased the butter, but plan to soon, the next time I need to buy it. Their ice cream is great, but it’s not cheap.

Since I started buying eggs at Westfield, I’ve noticed several “fresh brown eggs” signs at local farms that I drive past. I have not stopped to see what the prices are, but I would imagine they are cheaper than the eggs at the grocery store.

So keep your eye out for signs at farms for eggs, butter, fruits or vegetables, you may just find a great deal!

If you do find somewhere with cheaper dairy items, let other people know. And perhaps you could take turns picking up items for each other. We get milk once every other week, and my in-laws get milk for us the week we don’t go (and when we go, we pick up milk for them). It’s works out great and saves gas money.

Entry filed under: Groceries, Shopping. Tags: , .

Giveaway Links I’ve Been Tagged

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Addie  |  July 27, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    You should get a few chickens!! =) We have about 10 hens and 3 roosters and more eggs than we know what to do with. Oh, and brown eggs are so much better than white.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

