A New Addition

July 27, 2008 at 10:40 pm 4 comments

Last night, our family added a new member to our family, Sebastian, a Bernese Mountain Dog puppy. It took us a long time to decide whether or not to make a dog a part of our family. My husband has never had an indoor dog as a pet; I grew up with dogs in our family. When I worked full time, it didn’t seem like a good idea to get a dog, since we didn’t think we could give it the attention that it needed. After our son was born, it took a long time to adjust to everything (he didn’t sleep through the night until his first birthday), so again it was not the right time to get a new dog. Now that our son is almost 4 years old, we again started to talk about getting a dog.

Unfortunately, he is allergic to my sister’s dog, who is a Miniature Australian Shepherd. We never took him to the doctor to be tested for his allergies, and did not know if he was allergic to some dogs or most dogs…my parents have two Russian Wolfhounds (aka Borzoi) and he never seemed to have a negative reaction to them.

My husband called a few local places about puppies – Chocolate Labs, Golden Retrievers, and Bernese Mountain Dogs. I have always thought Bernese Mountain Dogs were cute. 🙂 We ended up visiting the Bernese Mountain Dog puppies (3 males) last night and brought one home with us. Our son does not seem to have any allergic reactions, which is great. It’ll be an adjustment for all of us. I’ve really enjoyed all of these years without dog hair in our house. Now I will have to work super hard to keep it clean and without dog odor. I hope I am up to the task.

Of course, this dog will be an added expense. I would appreciate any suggestions on ways to save money on dog items (toys, dog food, etc.)

This dog will be taking up a large amount of my time, so I want to apologize in advance if my posts are posted very late in the day or not posted on a daily basis.

We will be taking a 2-3 hour drive in the near future with our dog. Any suggestions on how to keep a puppy happy and content on a car ride would also be appreciated. Thanks!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

I’ve Been Tagged Free Bottle of Downy

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  July 27, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    Oh My WORD!!!!!! He is so cute. We want to come and see him. Congratulations. Before we got the kitties we we’re contemplating a bernese dog too. How funny. Bev and Matt have done a really good job with their dogs. They could probably give you lots of advice. They are in FL all this week but I am sure you could give her a call the following week. I know they buy there dog food at costco, she said it’;s the cheapest and helthy too. I have a long leash type thing I had bought when we we’re trying a dog out. You are welcome to it, let me know if you want it. You can steak it in the ground or tie it too a tree.

    Reply
  • 2. Jenny  |  July 27, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Oh and if you guys are crate training and need a crate. I am constantly seeing crates on craigslist all the time. Anywhere from $25-$50. Which is super cheaper then new in the store.

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer  |  July 28, 2008 at 10:20 am

    What an adorable puppy! Congratulations on your new addition!

    My 17 month old dog took a 4 hour car ride with me yesterday and did very well. I did my best to tire her out before the trip, getting her to run around the backyard and chase her ball. I also brought a bone and a couple of toys for her to chew on, though she chose not to.

    To me, the most important thing was that she was on her bed, wearing her seatbelt. She was comfortable there and wasn’t going to be trying to run around the car.

    I doled out little bites of treat about every half hour, along with drinks of water (Maddy drinks out of a water bottle which makes it easy). I gave her just small drinks, not a whole bowl. She was given an opportunity to get out of the car and use the grass but didn’t want to. Just be careful about giving too much food or water until you know your dog – my mother’s dog got car sick as a puppy!

    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 4. Kyle @ Rather-Be-Shopping  |  July 30, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    Now that is one CUTE puppy! I saw you read my post about pets over at BeingFrugal.net, so you know I am a big dog lover! But I don’t miss the puppy stuff like chewing and house training and all that stuff….but once you get through that stuff it gets much easier and takes up less time.

    One thing my wife does is buy dog toys at the dollar store. Some of which will entertain them for hours. Worth a look. Neat blog you have here, glad I found it. Take care and enjoy that pup!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

