I Splurged

July 30, 2008 at 4:56 pm Leave a comment

There are three books that I have been wanting to purchase for a long time: More-with-Less Cookbook by Doris Janzen Longacre, Simply in Season (World Community Cookbook) by Mary Beth Lind and Cathleen Hockman-wert, and Merciless by Robin Parrish. I found the best deals at Amazon, made the purchase on Monday and received them today.

I had been checking yard sales and thrift stores for both cookbooks, but was not able to find copies of them. I had a feeling that I wouldn’t find them, but I wanted to try. And $15 each for these cookbooks isn’t a bad deal – they are hard-cover spiral-bound, so they will last a long time. I am so excited to look through them and find new recipes.

These cookbooks have frugal healthy recipes – check out Amazon for some customer reviews.

And I’ve been wanting to buy Merciless since it came out, but was waiting to see if I could find the cookbooks cheaper (like I mentioned above). Plus, I wanted to have at least $25 worth of stuff to buy at Amazon so I could get free shipping.

I really wanted to have Merciless this week and signed up for a free trial of Amazon Prime, which gave me free 2-day shipping. Cool! The trial is for 1 month and I can order anything and get free 2-day shipping – there is no $25 minimum order. $3.99 overnight shipping is also an option, but I didn’t need these books that fast to pay $4 to have them shipped. I am planning to cancel the trial, but will wait a week or two, just in case there is anything else I want to buy from Amazon…If you can remember to cancel the trial, you may want to try this free trial out.

Merciless is written by my friend’s husband. It’s the third and final book in The Dominion Trilogy. I highly recommend the first two books and I am quite sure the third book will be just as exciting. If you do want to read these books, you will want to buy all three at once, so you can read right through the series. Books 1 and 2 end with cliffhangers, but 2nd one was a bigger cliffhanger than the first. I’ve had to wait almost a year to see how it all ends!

Almost all of my books are purchased used, but once in a while, I know it will be worth my while to buy brand new books. Even spending $30 for the cookbooks, I am certain I will get my money out of them by using lots of their recipes.

Entry filed under: Books, Recipes, Shopping. Tags: , , .

Cleaning Recipes Learn Free with iTunes U; MIT OpenCourseWare

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

