Cleaning Out

August 7, 2008 at 7:00 am 1 comment

For the last several months, I have been trying harder to clean things out and get rid of items I don’t want or use. And for the most part, it’s not a big deal. One question I pondered recently, and I still am thinking about it, which is why I want to ask for additional input: What should I do with items I want to get rid of that have been given to me as gifts from my family members? (I am referring to extended family members, not ones that live in my house.) Several of these things are decorative items, so it may be noticeable to people if they are no longer displayed in our house. For the most part, they are nice items, but they don’t really go with the style I have in my house, and I’d like to get rid of them. But I do feel bad because they were given as gifts.

The two solutions I came up with are:
1) get rid of them and hope the giver does not notice
2) ask the family member if they would like to keep the item, since I no longer have use for it

My problem with the second solution is that I may hurt their feelings if I tell them I no longer want/need their gift…

So, is there a third possibility that would work best? Let me know what you would do.

(I would like to mention that when I get rid of things, as long as they have use, I donate them to Goodwill.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Internet Deals Healthy Whoopie Pies?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Teale  |  August 7, 2008 at 8:12 am

    I think that people, in general, understand that someone isn’t going to keep ther gift forever. It’s not like they JUST gave you these items is it? If you used it, enjoyed it, and you’d like to make more room…. donate that sucker & feel good knowing that someone else is going to enjoy it in the future! If they ask about it when they come visit, I’d be honest & just explain that you were needing to downsize and you felt good knowing that donating the items would give them a good new home!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

