Using Less

August 14, 2008 at 9:53 am 3 comments

The other day, when I was making my son’s peanut butter and jelly sandwich, it once again struck me that if I use less peanut butter and jam, it will last much longer. Obviously, this is nothing new, but it seems so often I am using more ingredients than I actually need. Is 2 tablespoons of jam really necessary for a 3 year olds sandwich? Couldn’t I use 2 teaspoons and he would never notice the difference?

And how often when I am cooking or baking, do I use more than is needed of an ingredient? Some times it is on purpose for a more distinct flavor, other times, it’s just because I fill the measuring cup/spoon too full.

By more carefully watching how I use food, I can intentionally use less and therefore stretch things to make them go even farther.

You can always try to cut back on certain ingredients when working in the kitchen. Most likely it will take some a few times to discover how much less you can actually use and still maintain a good end result. In a recent post I linked to a website with some baking secrets. Check it out if you haven’t already.

What ways do you use less of an ingredient when cooking or baking? Did anyone notice when you cut back on a specific ingredient? Or do you change ingredients to be more cost effective?

Coupon Giveaway reminder – if you would like to win some coupons, sign up here!

Entry filed under: Food, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Another Coupon Giveaway – Contest Now Closed Link Love: Do the work that you love to do

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  August 14, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    When a recipe calls for vanilla extract and I have pure on hand I only use half of it. I know that’s the most pitiful answer you will recieve but it’s something, right. I also find myself very often using more and think I really don’t need this much. I think I do more with soap and conditioners and stuff like that. But you have just reminded me that I need to think twice before another pump of that soap. Thanks Trish!

    Reply
  • 2. Rick  |  August 15, 2008 at 2:23 am

    Just some food for thought…controlling portion sizes helps to maintain a healthy weight as well as making food last longer. Another thing with the peanut butter is that peanut butter is high in fat. Everybody needs some fat in their diet but, peanut butter is an easy way to overload on fat. Ultimately, controlling the amount of peanut butter is just plain healthy.

    Reply
  • 3. Debbie  |  August 15, 2008 at 10:47 am

    I don’t cut back much in the kitchen. I am so frugal (well, most people really just call me cheap) and I guess I would feel bad about skimping on my cooking. But I am known to tell the kids several times a week that our most expensive food is whatever we throw away. I will do anything to get them to eat what we have!
    Thanks for the reminder though. I always enjoy your tips and ideas.
    http://suburbsanity.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

