Easy Sauerkraut

August 17, 2008 at 4:46 pm 1 comment

Last week I decided to make sauerkraut. This is a common dish in Lancaster County because of it’s German heritage. Sauerkraut is made from cabbage and is commonly eaten with pork and hot dogs. Personally, I do not care for sauerkraut, but my husband likes it. My new cookbook More-With-Less has an Easy Sauerkraut recipe, so I thought I should give it a try sometime. Cabbage was on sale for $.29/lb so the timing was right.

The recipe is very simple – for every 2 lb of cabbage, you shred it, sprinkle 4 tsp of salt on it, mix it with your hands, put it in a quart size canning jar, loosely set the lid on, set jar(s) in a pan to catch the overflow and allow to set for 7-10 days. During this time, the brine (liquid) will suddenly drop, which means the sauerkraut is done. Then I will mix water and salt and add it to the jar to bring up the liquid again. I think that it needs to be refrigerated for a little while after that, and then canned. (I’ll check the directions again before I take the next step.)

 weighing the cabbage

 

 shredding the cabbage

 

 cabbage in the jar

 

So I hope this works. I only bought 4 lb of cabbage, which will yield 2 quarts. If this goes well (meaning my husband likes the sauerkraut), I’ll definitely try it again.

Entry filed under: Canning, Food, Recipes. Tags: , .

Coupon Giveaway Winners Pet Freebies

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  August 17, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Oh you are such a GOOD wife. My husband would probably love it if I did this. But I just cannot stand the smell or taste. So you need to tell hubby that he is way blessed to have you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

