Menu Plan Monday

August 18, 2008 at 7:06 pm 1 comment

My dinner menu for the week is:

Monday: ham and swiss stromboli (Quick Cooking magazine July/Aug 2001, page 37) w/ steamed veggies
Instead of using french bread from a can, I mixed up stromboli dough on Monday, which makes enough for 3 batches. The 2 leftover batches are in the freezer for future use.

Tuesday: spaghetti with meatballs, salad, garlic bread
I mixed up a french bread recipe on Monday, and it yields 2 loaves. Loaf one will be baked as garlic bread for this meal, and I will freeze the other dough for french bread for another time.)

Wednesday: 5 hour stew (More-With-Less, page 167)

Thursday: teriyaki chicken sandwiches (Quick Cooking magazine May/June 2004, page 9) with steamed veggies

Friday: corn and bean chowder (More-With-Less, page 202) with salad

Saturday: pita bread pizza with steamed veggies

Sunday: leftovers or sandwiches

Our breakfasts are normally cereal and yogurt, or occasionally waffles. (I freeze leftover waffles and use then eat them whenever I am in a waffle mood.) I found a baked oatmeal recipe recently that I want to try. I tried a baked oatmeal recipe once and didn’t care for it. My goal is to get away from store-bought cereal and eat items I can make at home that are healthy. And I am always looking for new breakfast ideas, please share any of your favorites!

Lunches are typically sandwiches – PB&J, PB and honey, or ham and cheese. My husband takes leftovers for his lunches. Once in a while I’ll have leftovers for my lunch, but I don’t particularly care for leftovers, unless it’s lasagna or chili – they are always better re-heated. 🙂

Entry filed under: Food, Recipes. Tags: .

Pet Freebies Deals This Week: 8/17-23

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jenuinejen  |  August 18, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    Your menu looks good. Frozen homemade breakfast foods are really good. We usually freeze our pancakes and french toast.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

