Decent Clothing for 20-something Women

August 19, 2008 at 5:00 pm 5 comments

Shopping for clothes for myself is a real pain. First of all, I want to get the best deal I can. Good quality is always nice, but doesn’t always seem worth it since styles change so often. Comfort is also good, but I would like comfort with style. And I would like to dress my age. It seems that so many stores cater to teens or to middle-aged customers. Super low-cut shirts (and pants) for that matter is not what I am looking for. But I don’t want to wear something my grandmother would wear either. So where does that leave me? Still looking for clothes that I like and the price is right…

I want to know:
if you are in your late 20s/early 30s – what stores do you buy your clothing from? And do you get good deals or do you just buy things because you want them?

My main stores are New York and Company, Old Navy, and Target. And sometimes I can find some nice items at Kohl’s and JCPenney’s too.

We went to the mall last week (something we don’t do often since it’s almost 30 minutes away) and I found this shirt at NY&Company – but it was over $30, so I didn’t get it. I am hoping to go back when there is a sale and get it then. 🙂

Entry filed under: Shopping. Tags: .

Deals This Week: 8/17-23 Working on Email Subscription

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  August 19, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    I have just recently started buying a few things “Van Heusen”. You might like some of there stuff. I think they have an outlet at rockvale. Or they have a store down at vanity fair. I agree i is definately getting tougher to find modest clothes.

    Reply
  • 2. Hallie  |  August 20, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    I go to the same stores. The good thing to know about New York & Co is if you get their credit card you get a discount. If you have AAA you get a discount of 10 or 15%. You get coupons in the mail too with the credit card. I have the CC that I used to buy my suit and paid it off immediately and reaped the benefits of getting about $30 off.

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer  |  August 21, 2008 at 7:54 am

    I love your blog, do have a look at mine too, Smart Shirts

    Reply
  • 4. Laura  |  March 10, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    H&M & Zara. Both are relatively affordable to begin with, have great sales and you can walk away with a full outfit instead of just 1 piece. Trend-oriented, constantly changing inventory, and it is what Europeans wear as well.

    Reply
  • 5. erin  |  November 14, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    Ok, I know I’m a little late here but thought maybe someone out there will come upon this page like I just did. I just wanted to share a little find that I was so happy to come upon. I was so tired of finding stores that either catered to teens or to my mother. Then I walked into Maurices. They have an online store as well. Most tops range from 24-32. They carry nice brands of jeans (think seven) and they have great sales. You can find Seven jeans marked half off (about $40) and their tops become half off as well. And they don’t carry really “trendy” items. They are fashionable but they are things that you can wear next season and the one after that as well. Why spend $20 on a shirt you are only going to wear a couple months when you can spend $30 on one you can wear much longer? I love this store! And no, I don’t work for them! lol. I just wanted to help other 20 somethings to dress their age and still look cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

