Fruit Leather Conclusion

August 28, 2008 at 8:09 pm Leave a comment

My peach leather did not turn out as good as I had hoped. The edges started getting darker, but parts of the middle were still wet. I decided to take it out of the oven so I would not burn any of it. As I did in my first attempt, I used wax paper again and where it was more well done, it was hard to separate the leather from the edges of the leather. It does taste great though! My oven was probably the main problem – it doesn’t cook evenly. In the future, I may try to use my toaster oven – it has a dehydrator option, and hopefully will cook more evenly. I will have to have two small batches, since the pan I used in my oven does not fit in my toaster oven. It will probably take longer if I have to make two batches, even though (I hope) the toaster oven will dry out the fruit leather more quickly.

You can read about the beginning of my fruit leather story, as well as my second update if you would like some background on this post.

If you have ever made fruit leather, which option did you use to dry out the fruit? And did that work well? Do you have any recommendations?

Entry filed under: Food, Recipes. Tags: , .

Craft Giveaway #4 – $200 Worth of Fiskars Supplies Craft Giveaways #5 and 6 – Creative Memories, GorillaPod, and more

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

