Canning Salsa

September 4, 2008 at 4:33 pm 2 comments

Earlier this week I stopped at a near-by produce stand looking for zucchini for our Vegetable Stacked Quesadillas. There was a large basket of tomatoes for $3. That seemed like a good deal, but I wasn’t sure if I should buy them, since I didn’t know if I wanted to can tomatoes or tomato sauce. Since I had never canned tomatoes or tomato sauce, I did not know what ingredients I would need. And I didn’t want to buy tomatoes and not be able to use them, or then have to run out again to get more ingredients, so I didn’t buy them.

When I got home, I found some salsa recipes and decided to try to make it. Salsa is not something I like to eat, but my husband really enjoys it. Canned salsa would also make a good gift, so I decided to try it to see if it work, and then I could always make it again later, if it turned out well. The next day, I stopped by the same produce stand, but there was only one basket of tomatoes and it was $1.50. I believe it was smaller than the $3 basket. My recipe called for 14 cups of chopped tomatoes, but I did not know how many tomatoes I would need to equal that amount. I decided that I would just make half the recipe if I didn’t have enough.

I ended up with 7 pints of salsa. My husband is very excited to try it; I really hope he likes it. I am still hoping to can some tomato sauce. If you have a good canning recipe for tomato sauce, please pass it along to me. I do not have a pressure canner, just a regular canner.

We planted two tomato plants this year, but we have not had too many tomatoes yet. There were red ones a while ago, but they weren’t good, I guess bugs got to them or something. Now the tomatoes are staying orange. Perhaps the tomato plant was incorrectly labeled and they are supposed to be orange tomatoes…I froze a few bags of tomatoes last year. I plan to do the same this year too. I use the frozen tomatoes for stewed tomatoes. It doesn’t really seem worth it to me to go through all of the work canning tomatoes if I can just freeze them.

Next year, I will plant 3 or 4 tomato plants, in hopes of not having to buy any tomatoes. And hopefully the plants will do well and yield plenty of red tomatoes!

Entry filed under: Canning, Food, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Save Money When Eating Out Price Adjustment

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debbie  |  September 4, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    That salsa looks great. I need to do something with my tomatoes. Maybe this is the inspiration I have been needing.

    Reply
  • 2. Jenny  |  September 5, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Hey trish I know we talked today but I have that recipe for spaghetti sauce if you want it. I agree your salsa looks yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

