How NOT to Save Money with a Dog

September 10, 2008 at 10:55 pm Leave a comment

What a crazy day it has been. I had planned on blogging much earlier today, but things did not go as planned.

This morning I went to a friend’s house, where the ladies from our small group worked on a project for our church. It was nice to get out of the house and work on something together. And our children had a few hours to play together, which they all enjoyed.

In the afternoon, my son and I took our dog to the vet. He has had diarrhea since Sunday. On Monday my husband called the vet, and they suggested we give Sebastian chicken and rice and Pepcid. We did not have Pepcid, so we just gave him the chicken and rice. He seemed to be acting more like himself on Tuesday and I was not worried. However, this morning he still had diarrhea. I called the vet to see what to do and they recommended I bring him in. It turns out he has roundworm.

The first time I took him to the vet (a week after we got Sebastian), I was given a packet of information. I didn’t really look at it at home, and we filed it away in a drawer. Apparently, there was de-worming medicine in the packet that we were supposed to give our dog, and it seems we were to have ordered more, so we could give him a dose each month. I don’t know if the vet told me and I forgot, or if it just wasn’t mentioned…

So, we were able to get medicine today, plus pay for the office visit. $90 spent on our dog. When I got home, I gave him the medicine. An hour later, he threw up. Again I called the vet and since they could not tell if any of the medicine had a chance to work, they asked that I come in to get more medicine, but a different kind. My husband stopped by and spent $10 more on medicine.

Now I know to give our dog de-worming medicine, forever! Hopefully this medicine will take care of the problem, and also that no one in our family or anyone our dog has been on contact with will get it either. It’s possibly, although not likely.

This was $100 I definitely was not planning on spending…

Today, I learned that I need to look thoroughly through information I am given, just in case there is valuable information (or medicine) that needs to be taken care of!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Sore Throat Gargle Exercise Links

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

