Homemade Applesauce – updated 9/22

September 20, 2008 at 9:35 pm 1 comment

This morning I bought one bushel of Gingergold apples for $12 and took them to my mom’s house to make applesauce with her and my sister. We normally use Cortland apples, but my mom forgot to pick them up yesterday and that store was not open today. I called around to local stores/fruit markets and my local grocery store had the best deal on apples, so I decided to try Gingergold. According to the person on the produce department at my grocery store, they are selling more Gingergold apples each year, so that is a positive sign.

I inherited a Victorio Strainer from my grandma, which is much easier to use than a foley mill. I also received my grandma’s apple peeler/corer which makes things much faster, instead of peeling and cutting the apples by hand.

We divided up the applesauce three ways, so I will have to make applesauce again this fall. My mom also wants to make more, so we will probably do together, and she will plan to get Cortland apples the next time.

I took a picture of the applesauce, but didn’t download it to my computer yet, so I will do that next week. The picture is now up. And as you can see, we used all of the peanut butter and mayonnaise containers I have been saving for several months. And I forgot to mention, I did not use any sugar or other sweetener for this applesauce.

What kind of apples to you use when you make applesauce? Do you ever combine other fruits in your applesauce? Like peach-applesauce?

A friend of mine was going to make pearsauce today. I think I may try that next week. I am hoping to get a 1/2 bushel of pears next week and want to can some and then try to make pearsauce as well.

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , .

20% Off Old Navy Purchase, Plus Free Shipping Deals This Week: 9/21-9/27

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  September 20, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Hey there. Pearsauce went great. I have not tried it yet, but our neigborhood had a campfire tonight and everyone raved about how good it was. It was a little dissapointing that 1 basket (1/2 bushel) only made 8 jars, but oh well, it will be worth it eating it fresh over the winter! I also heard that gingergold we’re a very good apple to use for applesauce. I thought mayby once the pears come down that I might do some mixing of the pears and apples and make a mixture of the sauce. We had tons of fun at the b-day party last night, thanks again for the invite. Did we mistake about hubby’s not being invited? Neal mentioned something? Oh and I wanted to tell you, I didn’t peel my pears I just blanched them and then put them through the victorio strainer and NO peels came through.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

