Menu Plan Monday

September 23, 2008 at 4:17 pm 1 comment

Monday: macaroni and cheese with stewed tomatoes, steamed vegetables (Family Favorite)*

Tuesday: stromboli and salad
(I made stromboli dough recently and it yielded enough for 3 meals, so I froze the extra two. The dough for this meal is one of these extras.)

Wednesday: honey chicken, rice, and steamed vegetables
(I was going to make this chicken last week, but we went out to eat instead. This chicken has been in the freezer, when I made this recipe it made too much, so I froze half for future use, which is now.)

Thursday: spaghetti and salad
(I am using Nancy’s Spaghetti Sauce recipe from Fix It and Forget It, page 163 – a friend of mine recommending it.)

Friday: pork BBQ sandwiches and salad or steamed veggies

Saturday: grilled cheese and tomato soup, salad

Sunday: speedy swedish meatballs (Sandra Lee Semi-Homemade Cooking, page 72) and steamed veggies
(this swedish meatballs recipe calls for store-bought meatballs, but I am going to make my own)

* This Menu Plan Monday is the Family Favorites Edition. We love macaroni and cheese with stewed tomatoes. My mom gave me this recipe; she made this dish while I was growing up. I don’t know where she got this recipe.

Macaroni and Cheese

1 c elbow noodles
1 c milk (I use skim)
1/2 lb sharp cheddar cheese (grated or cubed)
2 T flour

Cook noodles in boiling water for 7-9 minutes, or until done. Drain water. Stir in flour. Add milk. Stir in cheese. Cook over medium heat, watch carefully, mixing occasionally.

(I normally use more than 1 cup of elbow noodles. It makes more and is still cheesy. I sometimes add more cheese; sometimes I use different kinds of cheeses. Rarely do I measure exactly for this recipe.)

Stewed Tomatoes

1 tomato
1 T cornstarch
2 T sugar

Cut up one tomato, put in blender. Add cornstarch and sugar; mix together. Cook until thickened.

(Since I have been adding more noodles to my mac and cheese recipe, I need to make more stewed tomatoes. Similar to the mac and cheese recipe, I don’t usually measure exactly for this recipe either. If it doesn’t thicken enough, I add more cornstarch. I prefer my stewed tomatoes sweet, so I may add more sugar than is suggested. This recipe can be cooked in the microwave or on the stovetop. Watch closely and mix so it doesn’t burn.)

Entry filed under: Food, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Deals This Week: 9/21-9/27 Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Cheap Books

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  September 24, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Hey thanks for posting the recipe. I always love to try new recipes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

