Canning Pears and Pear Sauce

September 25, 2008 at 1:00 am Leave a comment

On my way home from the book sale on Monday afternoon, I picked up 1/2 bushel of pears for $8.95, which seemed like a pretty good price.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to can that evening or the following day. I decided on the evening, since my husband was around to help with our son and dog. This was my first time canning pears and it took me 4 hours, including cleaning all of the jars and clean up. I had planned to can some pears and then make some pear sauce, but I ended up with 7 quarts of pears, 1 quart of pear sauce, 1 quart of pear juice, and a little bit extra pear sauce and pear juice; I refrigerated the latter two items.

Canning pears is a lot of work. With peaches, the skins come off pretty easily, but I had to use my peeler for the pear skins and that took longer.

I tried the pear sauce the next day, the little bit that I had refrigerated – it was okay. It’s not as smooth as applesauce. Pears are a bit grainy and that is obvious in the sauce, so I am glad I did not make more pear sauce. The pear sauce was brown on the top after it sat for a day, is that normal? It did not taste bad.

Interestingly enough, when I was at the grocery store the day after I canned pears, they were selling 1/2 bushels for $6.95, $2 less than what I paid. I will keep that in mind for next year when I am checking pear prices. It might be a good idea to can some more pears, but I am not sure I really feel like it…

Entry filed under: Canning, Food, Recipes. Tags: , .

Works For Me Wednesday – Find Recipes Faster Free HP Print Projects

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

