Freezing Tomatoes

September 26, 2008 at 4:40 pm 1 comment

Nancy’s Spaghetti Sauce is a recipe that is part of my meal plan for this week. I needed 3 cups of chopped tomatoes for the recipe. Unfortunately, my two tomato plants are not doing well. Almost all of the few tomatoes it has yielded were either rotten or splitting apart. I discovered a nearby produce stand with good prices and have been buying tomatoes there, as well as other vegetables. (Recently I made canned salsa and canned tomato soup from the tomatoes purchased from this stand.)

I wanted to freeze some tomatoes to use in recipes during the winter. Last year I froze at least 3 gallon size freezer bags full of tomatoes, that came from my two tomato plants. Since my plants this year and not working out well, I decided just to buy some tomatoes to freeze.

So I picked up 1/2 bushel of tomatoes this week to use for my spaghetti sauce and to freeze. A lot of the tomatoes were bad, so I threw those into the trash. (I paid $3 for the tomatoes, and knew I could afford to throw quite a few away and still get my money’s worth.)

I measured out 3 cups of chopped tomatoes for the sauce and set them aside. Then I washed and cored 9 tomatoes and put them into a gallon size freezer bag. To make my life a little easier in the winter, I decided to chop the rest of the tomatoes and freeze then in quart size bags, so they will thaw faster.

For fun, I mixed up a batch of fresh salsa for my husband. The recipe I used was from Simply in Season – Fresh Summer Salsa, page 163. I can’t tell you if it was good or not, I do not like salsa. And I am not sure if my husband tried it yet…hopefully he will soon,

The tomatoes were not too much work, and it was definitely worth the short amount of time I spent on them. This will save me a lot of money too. I got a lot out of my $3 worth of tomatoes. The lowest price my grocery store usually sells tomatoes for is $.99/lb – so I would not get many tomatoes for $3 there.

I plan to use my frozen tomatoes for stewed tomatoes and soups. Do you ever use frozen tomatoes in recipes?

Entry filed under: Food, Freezing. Tags: , , .

$.99 Flat Shipping at Chadwicks Link Love

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  September 26, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    I would love to do this– but do you know how the tomatoes are when they are unfrozen? very watery? I didn’t know you could freeze them raw! I just plowed through 20 lbs. of tomatoes by making sauce and would have loved to just throw some in the freezer for later….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

