Works for Me Wednesday – Rest Time

October 15, 2008 at 3:49 pm 3 comments

My son is now four years old, but he gave up naps shortly before he turned 3 years old. His nap time had been my break and I was not sure I could make it through the day without a break!

A friend of mine told me her kids took rest times in their rooms when they stopped taking naps. Initially it was hard, my son did not want to stay in his room and play for an hour. Another friend suggested I set a timer and put it outside his room. When the timer went off, the rest time was over.

Now he does better, and I do not use a timer. I tell him that I will come to get him when his time is up. For us, a rest time is very helpful. He enjoys playing with toys in his room and I have a little bit of time to get things done around the house.

Check out other Works for Me tips at Rocks In My Dryer.

Entry filed under: Family, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Menu Plan Monday (on Tuesday) Complimentary Cappuccino

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. robin@heartofwisdom.com  |  October 15, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Great Idea! Can we do the same thing with washing dishes…lol

    I love your blog. Nice Job!

    I would love for you to come and visit me and see the benefits of using an MP3 player for storytime for children.

    See you there!

    Robin@heartofwisdom.com
    http://heartofwisdom.com/blog/

    Reply
  • 2. Grammy  |  October 15, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    What may make it easier is to call it play in your room time. or read a book time. That way he will relate it to a fun time. rather than a time out.
    Grammy

    Reply
  • 3. overactiveovaries  |  October 16, 2008 at 12:35 am

    We’ve been doing that awhile now. And at five it’s still working 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

