Works for Me Wednesday – Dish Cloths/Towels

October 29, 2008 at 1:30 pm 1 comment

Earlier this year I started hanging two dish towels from my oven – one for drying our hands and drying off the counter, the other (which is folded in half, so it’s easy to make the distinction which is which) is for drying dishes. Ideally when I used just one towel, it should have been clean, since it was drying “clean” things, but sometimes I have my doubts how well people actually wash their hands… So, in hopes of being more sanitary, I decided to have a separate towel for drying dishes. (I have been thinking about adding a third towel that will be used only for drying off the counter, since I am guessing the counter is not the cleanest…but my husband already thinks having two towels and two cloths is a little much. Hmmm.)

We do use our dishwasher, but usually items are still wet when I unload the dishwasher. I like to try them off a little bit before putting them away.

At our sink, I keep two dish cloths out – one for washing dishes and one for wiping off the counter/table. I do not wash a lot of dishes, normally just the large one that take up too much space in the dishwasher or the ones that are not dishwasher-safe.

And I try to get out new dish cloths and towels every day, since they seem to get dirty quickly.

Check out more tips and ideas at Rocks in My Dryer.

Entry filed under: cleaning, Organization. Tags: , , , , , .

Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Paper Towels Fall Recipes

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Queen of the Click  |  October 29, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    I never used to use dish towels until my brother-in-law asked me for one to dry dishes and I didn’t have one (I air dry dishes).

    So I bought a few and they became nice decorative pieces. And I realized that I like them a lot. Now I see what you mean about the germs and i realize I need two. Thanks for the tip. It means two decorative pieces in the kitchen đŸ™‚ – Target has cute owl towels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

