Babysitting Co-op

November 7, 2008 at 11:16 pm 1 comment

Some friends my our church recently asked me if my husband and I would be interested in forming a babysitting co-op. I was somewhat interested, but my husband was not at all interested, so we declined. I do think this is a great idea and wanted to suggest it to those of you who want to cut down on babysitting costs.

From what I understand, there are several couples in the babysitting co-op and they have agreed on meeting on a regular basis. For now, one couple watches everyones children, while the rest of the couples go out for a few hours. It’s my understanding that because there are so many children, they will have two couples watch all of the kids and the remaining couples have a free evening. Then each time they meet, they will rotate who watches the children.

Even though this is not something we are a part of, I am glad that many of my friends now can have a regular evening off, to spend uninterrupted time together.

And if you do not know of several couples, perhaps you could find one couple and take turns watching each other’s children?

A babysitting co-op is just one option. There are many other kinds of co-ops you could form with friends or relatives. Perhaps if you enjoy cleaning and you know someone who enjoys cooking, you could swap “services” with them. The possibilities are endless. Do you already have something like this in place in your life? What do you do and how did it start?

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Free. Tags: , , .

Saving Money When Hosting Link Love

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kaye  |  November 8, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    When my kids were young (I’m a grandmother to 9 now 🙂 ), a homeschooling friend and I decided to trade off babysitting. When we started we each had 3 kids. By the time they moved away, I still had 3 and she had 5. Throughout the years, this worked really well for us. Our oldest three had one “twin” about the same age. They played well together, we each liked the others kids (very important!), and It gave each of us valuable time alone with our spouses, not to mention time alone all by ourselves! We even traded overnights which was always fun! Today, almost 30 years later, she and I are still great friends – long distance. Our older two daughters are still very close, and the middle two keep in touch occasionally.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

