Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Cheap Produce

November 11, 2008 at 5:42 pm 1 comment

Several weeks ago a friend of mine asked me if I knew about the reduced produce section at our local grocery store. I told her I saw the occasional cart with some bagged salads marked down, but that was it. She proceeded to tell me that in the back of the produce section, to go through the “authorized personnel only” door and that there were always boxes of produce for $.19/lb. I couldn’t believe it! I have been shopping at this store for 8 years and am just finding out about this now!?!

I must admit, the next time I was at the store, I was a bit hesitant to go through the “authorized personnel only” door, so I asked a produce employee about the reduced produce. She showed me where it was and explained that I could choose what I wanted out of the boxes, put everything into a plastic bag, and then weigh it on the scale, which should always be programmed to print out a $.19/lb label.

So yay for cheap produce! I’ve gone “in the back” several times now. Sometimes I have found good produce, and sometimes it’s all too old/moldy.

Today, I happily purchased $.68 worth of produce – 2 lb of chopped onions, 1/2 lb diced green pepper, an orange pepper, and several mushrooms. I froze the onions and peppers and am not sure what I’ll do with the mushrooms.

My tip is that you always check out the reduced produce section, in hopes of finding some worthwhile items. If you have not seen a reduced section, ask – maybe your grocery store has one that is hiding. Or maybe they only reduce produce once a week; get the scoop and then pass it on. I am so thankful my friend told me.

Entry filed under: Food, Groceries, Shopping. Tags: , , .

Menu Plan Monday Works for Me Wednesday – Clothing List

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Becki@BlogMommas  |  November 11, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Wow! I am totally asking next time I go shopping! Thanks for this AWESOME tip!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

