Making Christmas Gifts

November 14, 2008 at 4:33 pm 5 comments

Over the last few years, I have been trying to come up with gift ideas that I can make instead of just buying all of the gifts I give. I really enjoy making things with my hands and it just seems extra special to give someone something I have made myself. (I know I enjoy receiving handmade/homemade gifts.)

Last year I made some pillows for my son and for my mom. Because my sewing machine is having issues, I am not sure I’ll be sewing anything this year. My mom has offered to let me borrow hers, if I need a sewing machine, which is nice. I really need to do more planning and research first.

I always make a list of who I will be purchasing gifts for and how much I will be spending on each person. Then as I accumulate gifts, I list what I’ve gotten under each person’s name and how much I spent. I keep these lists in my purse so I have them whenever I am shopping.

This past year I have been bookmarking all kinds of websites with gift ideas, in hopes of incorporating more homemade gifts into my giving this year. Here are a few of them:

CraftBits.com
NotMadeofMoney.com
Tied Blanket video on You Tube
Homemade Scrub at Angry Chicken
Striped Soap at Martha Stewart
GotFabric.com
ThriftyFun.com
CraftStylish.com
Holiday Gift Mix Recipes at CooksRecipes.com
Food Gifts from Your Kitchen

There is definitely an overwhelming amount of great ideas out there. I really need to sit down and decide what I will do for whom and when.

What kinds of gifts do you make? Or what websites inspire you to make gifts?

Entry filed under: Crafts, Family, Food, Gifts, Organization, Sewing. Tags: , , , , .

Free eBook – Jumble Pie Keeping Up with Bills and Banking

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bubble&squeak  |  November 14, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    http://www.etsy.com

    It’s a haven of handmade and you really have no idea how many amazing artisans live amongst us until you viisit here.

    From cookies to bags to vintage goods and craft supplies, Etsy is a whole community of crafty people who buy and sell. It’s a worldwide marketplace.

    I love it for the ideas and the fact that you can buy handmade items made by really passionate people.

    Reply
  • 2. Lori  |  November 14, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Great links, thanks! I linked you:
    http://momsbyheart.blogspot.com/2008/11/best-of-blogosphere_14.html

    Reply
  • 3. addie  |  November 22, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Yes, definitely check out etsy! There is so much good stuff on there!

    Reply
  • 4. Sam  |  December 23, 2008 at 1:00 am

    Great ideas! I actually make an envelope for each person I’ll be buying a gift for by writing the person’s name on the outside and putting the cash I’ll be spending for them inside the envelope. There’s no chance of overspending on one person because if the cash isn’t in the envelope, I can’t buy the gift!

    Reply
    • 5. trishtheconqueror  |  December 23, 2008 at 10:41 am

      Very good idea!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

