Tuesday’s Tip Jar: Christmas Card Organization

November 18, 2008 at 4:39 pm 1 comment

I love to send cards, although I do not send as many as I would like. One of the things I love about Christmas time is sending and receiving Christmas cards. It helps me stay in touch with old friends and usually updates me on how they are doing. Normally I send around 50 Christmas cards. 

Here are some of my Christmas card tips:

1. Buy Christmas cards after Christmas when they are 75% or 90% off. There’s nothing like paying a dollar or two for a box of Christmas cards!

2. Store all of your cards together in a large box (still keeping the cards in their individual small boxes they came in).

3. In each of the small card boxes, I have a piece of scrap paper that I write down the names of the people I send them to. (Because of the variety of cards I have, I like to handpick each one, choosing the most appropriate card for the person/people on my list. Oftentimes I do not use all of my cards in one year, so it’s very helpful to me to have the list of people I sent a particular card to; this way I will not send someone the same card year after year.)

4. During the month of December, our church sets up several tables in the lobby and has a box where you can drop off your Christmas cards for other church members/attendees. Volunteers sort out the cards and put them in alphabetized boxes. This helps save money on stamps, since I don’t have to mail any cards to our church friends. (If your church does not do this, suggest it!)

5. Ideally, I like to send Christmas cards at the beginning of December. But if I know I will be seeing a friend in person, I will plan to give them their Christmas card in person, instead of mailing it.

6. Keep a list of all of the people you send Christmas cards to and date it. (This is not the same list that I have in the individual card boxes). I will be making a list of all of the people I want to send cards to this year soon, and I will use my list from last year as a starting point, in deciding who to send cards to this year.

7. Write out a few cards at a time. If you are sending 50 cards, that may take a long time, depending on how much you write in each card. Perhaps you could just do 5 or 10 cards at a time? This way, you will not be overwhelmed and can enjoy taking the time to write to friends and family.

How do you make sending Christmas cards fun and not overwhelming?

For other tips, check out Tuesday’s Tip Jar at BlogMammas.com

Entry filed under: Holidays, Organization. Tags: , , .

Menu Plan Monday Link Love

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Becki@BlogMommas  |  November 18, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    Great tips! I love sending out cards too! Last year we bought our cards for this year after Christmas and got two boxes for 25 cents each!

    Happy Tuesday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

