Works for Me Wednesday – Shop Around

December 3, 2008 at 4:39 pm 3 comments

For the first several years of our marriage, I did all of our grocery shopping at the same store. It was much easier to make a list of what I wanted, and then get it all at the same store. Toiletries and cleaning items were purchased from Wal-Mart and I did not spend a lot of time looking for better deals and/or shopping elsewhere. I did use coupons when possible.

Now that I am at stay-at-home mom, I can spend more time looking for good deals and shop at more than one store. Since I no longer have a job, I feel that it is worth my while to spend extra time trying to save money.

Even though gas prices were super high for a time, I made sure I planned my errands carefully, so I would not waste gas. (I even spent some time calculating how much it would cost to go to a certain store, to see if it was really was saving me money.)

Some things I have discovered:

– my two local grocery stores do not accept internet coupons. Store 1 doubles regular coupons up to $1 and store 2 does accepts regular coupons, but does not double them. I recently discovered the discounted produce section at store 1, which has allowed me to save a lot of money on produce (when there is a good selection) and also allows me to buy “extras” for pennies. Store 2 has a larger produce section, and lower prices on most produce.

– Wal-Mart accepts internet coupons and usually has cheaper grocery items. I typically shop at Wal-Mart once a month, so when I make my list, I check online for coupons for items I normally purchase, and will print out the coupons and use them at Wal-Mart. (There are several coupon links on the left hand side of this site.)

– CVS also accepts internet coupons. By using internet coupons, regular coupons, and Extra Care Bucks, I have been able to buy most of our toiletry items very inexpensively.

I have been trying to write down unit costs from Costco, Wal-Mart and other stores, but it has been difficult, since prices seem to be changing all of the time.

In order to eat a more healthy diet, I am making as many things as I can from scratch, which means less boxed foods and processed foods.

I am proud to say that even though food costs are probably the highest they have ever been for me as a consumer, our family is actually spending less on food each month.

How do you save money on your grocery bill? What are your favorite coupon websites?

Entry filed under: Coupons, Food, Groceries, Shopping. Tags: , , , , , .

I Won Another Book! Free POD MP3 Download

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linn  |  December 4, 2008 at 4:38 am

    i am not living in States. but i can feel it by reading ur post.

    for me, i like to shop in about 3 places, so that i can always compare which products are cheaper and more promotional in each place.

    that’s why i save more money on grocery stores.

    Reply
  • 2. debbie  |  December 4, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Good for you! I am trying hard to cut down our food bill.

    Reply
  • 3. Mr. Coupons  |  December 5, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    I even heard that ‘layaway’ was making a comeback in the US… of course, in the past, we simply exchanged the layaway concept for I want it NOW… credit cards!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

