Make Your Own Laundry Detergent

December 11, 2008 at 7:56 pm 6 comments

pict0004

I recently decided to make my own laundry detergent. After seeing posts on blogs about people making it themselves, I decided to give it a try after seeing this post at SisterlySavings.net.

This picture includes my detergent in the old peanut butter container and all three ingredients: borax, washing soda, and Fels Napha Soap; you can view the entire recipe at the link mentioned above.

I only made one batch, just to test it. I used it on two of the loads of wash I did today and they look just fine. I have not decided if I will use it on my son’s clothing. I wash all of his clothing separately with a “sensitive detergent” because he has very sensitive skin.

Soaps Gone Buy is where Sisterly Savings got the detergent recipe. I emailed Soaps Gone Buy to see if the recipe would be okay on sensitive skin and the quick response I received suggested I should try a test batch, since the Fels Napha has a perfume, which could affect my son.

If want to try to make your own detergent, but can’t find the ingredients in your area, Soaps Gone Buy would be a good place to order from.

Entry filed under: cleaning, Recipes. Tags: , .

Wordless Wednesday – Sebastian’s First Snow Free and Cheap

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori  |  December 12, 2008 at 10:59 am

    I do this too & I love the soap! Esp since it works out to be $.03 per load! I find Borax & the A&H at Meijer and WalMart. I’ve seen Borax at Target too. My post is here: http://momsbyheart.blogspot.com/2008/09/save-big-on-laundry.html

    Reply
  • 2. addie  |  December 13, 2008 at 8:38 am

    where did you buy fels-naptha around here? i have the other ingredients ( i add them to my laundry) and i’d love to try this recipe. have you tried it in cold water?

    Reply
    • 3. trishtheconqueror  |  December 13, 2008 at 11:44 am

      I got Fels Napha at Yoders. I’ll keep my eye out for it and let you know if I see it elsewhere. Yes, I used it in cold water and it seemed to work fine.

      Reply
  • 4. Ira  |  December 13, 2008 at 11:09 am

    A low cost, green eco friendly, healthy natural way to do laundry is to put 3 or 4 soapberries in a small pouch and put it in the laundry. Or make a homemade liquid soap from soapberries which grow on the Chinaberry tree and have been used for thousands of years. They work very effectively.

    Reply
  • 5. addie  |  December 22, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    I found it tonight at Dutch Way for 99 cents a bar. I thought I had some Super Washing Soda here at home, but I must have used it all… Oh well… next time I’m at the store I’ll pick some up and try this recipe! Thanks for the link.

    Reply
    • 6. trishtheconqueror  |  December 22, 2008 at 8:58 pm

      Cool – I am glad you found it! Let me know what you think.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

