Taking a Holiday Break

December 26, 2008 at 10:37 pm Leave a comment

We have had two Christmas dinners so far and have two more this weekend. I really enjoy spreading out Christmas over several days!

It turns out the rolls I was going to make for this evening’s dinner needed to be made in a bread maker – well mine broke a few years ago, so we threw it out. I am glad I discovered this several days ago, so I was able to look for another recipe. I found an other recipe that sounded good, but it appears that my yeast is too old, because these rolls didn’t rise. I ended up making some easy pop-up rolls that worked.

I went shopping today for a few hours. I really wanted to get back to the Pfaltzgraff outlet since they are going out of business. Even though the lines were even longer than the last time I was there, I am glad I went. I got some new Cuisinart knives for around $5 each. I also purchased some plates and some more utensils. There were supposed to be good sales at Carter’s, but I didn’t see much. I briefly stopped by The Children’s Place, but $6.99 was the lowest price I saw there, and since I’ve gotten so many items there for $1.99, $7 just didn’t seem like a very good deal. When I was driving to the latter two outlets, I saw that the Geoffrey Beene outlet store was closing and that everything in the store was $4.99 or less. Geoffrey Beene is one of the few stores that I like to shop at, so I was disappointed to see them going out of business. I found three shirts for myself and one shirt for my husband, all $1.99 each. Our local store will be open until this Sunday, in case any locals want to check it out.

Since we are still celebrating the holidays with family, I will be taking some time off. Although, if I somehow have extra time to blog, I certainly will. If I don’t blog again before the new year begins, Happy New Year!!

Entry filed under: Family, Food, Groceries, Holidays, Recipes, Shopping.

A Child is Born Menu Plan Monday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

