Booking Through Thursday – The Best

January 8, 2009 at 10:49 am 4 comments

btt2

I am trying a new meme today, Booking Through Thursday. Every Thursday, a new question is posted that has something to do with books or reading.

Today’s question: It’s a week or two later than you’d expect, and it may be almost a trite question, but … what were your favorite books from 2008?

My favorites from last year are:

Power of a Praying Parent – Stormie Omartian
I try to read this book every year because it covers topics I normally would not think to pray about.

Velvet Elvis: Repainting the Christian Faith – Rob Bell
The author is a 30-something pastor of a mega-church in Michigan. I had heard good things about him and the church, as well as this book, so I borrowed the book and read it. A wide variety of topics are covered, making you question how deep your faith is. It can’t be summarized in a few sentences; just read it if you have the chance.

A Voice in the Wind (Mark of the Lion trilogy #1) – Francine Rivers
This book was amazing! It was my first Francine Rivers novel and I loved it. I am looking forward to reading more of her books.

An Echo in the Darkness (Mark of the Lion trilogy #2) – Francine Rivers
I also enjoyed this book, although I liked the first book better.

As Sure as the Dawn (Mark of the Lion trilogy #3) – Francine Rivers
Again, this was a good book, but probably my least favorite or this trilogy, but still very good.

A House Like a Lotus – Madeleine L’Engle
This book is part of the O’Keefe family series. I love reading books written in first person.

Prince Caspian – CS Lewis
After seeing this movie in the theater, I had to re-read the book to compare the two. All of the Chronicles of Narnia are great books.

Merciless – Robin Parrish
The book is the end of a trilogy. I had no idea how it would all end, and thought the author did a great job with the ending. I do think I liked the first book (Relentless) in this trilogy the best though.

The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals – Michael Pollan
My eyes were definitely opened to how our country processes food. My goal is to continually try to make small changes in the way our family eats.

The Shack – William P. Young
For a period of time last year, this book seemed to be everywhere. I did not know much about it at all. When I found a website giving this book away, I signed up and won it! Because I don’t want to give anything away, I won’t say much about it, other than it was not at all what I expected – all I knew what that it was about a guy going through a trial – and thought the author did well describing things, and giving a new way to look at certain things.

In the Shadow of the Sun King – Golden Keyes Parsons
I joined the Thomas Nelson Book Bloggers and received this historical book for free and then I just had to read it and review it.

Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality – Donald Miller
This was the first book I read by Donald Miller. It covers all kinds of topics and how things relate to God and his beliefs. It’s not your typical “Christian” book, I highly recommend it.

Entry filed under: Book Review, Books. Tags: , , , , , .

Grow Your Own Sprouts Free Suze Orman eBook from Oprah

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  January 8, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I’ve been wanting to read the Omnivore’s Dilemma, glad you found it usefull.

    Reply
  • 2. Wanda  |  January 8, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Haven’t heard of the ‘Mark of the Lion trilogy’, I’ll have to look them up…

    Reply
  • 3. hello friend  |  January 8, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    what a great list.
    i absolutely love the mark of the lion series.
    have you read redeeming love?

    blue like jazz – just added it to my list. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Nise'  |  January 8, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Francine Rivers is on my favorite list as well. I have read many of her books and can’t believe I waited so long to read the Mark of the Lion series. It was excellent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

