Christmas Gifts I Made Last Year

January 10, 2009 at 5:02 pm 1 comment

We took down our Christmas tree today and put the rest of our Christmas decorations away. So Christmas is finally over. I know you are probably not thinking a great deal about next Christmas, but I thought I would write about some of the gifts I made this year, while they are fresh in my mind. My goal for this year is to make more gifts, not only Christmas, but housewarming, baby, wedding, etc. I enjoy making things, and I don’t consider myself super creative; it’s nice to have a small creative outlet. Normally it is cheaper to make gifts and most people probably will appreciate something homemade over store-bought.

chocolate covered pretzels – I found a great deal on my favorite pretzels (Sturgis), and dipped half of them in chocolate or vanilla melting wafers. Then I drizzled sprinkles or toffee bits over the pretzels. These were very easy and inexpensive and tasted great!

food mixes – For my parents and siblings, I purchased plastic storage containers and then put various mixes in them. Some of the mixes were: Cinnamon Brown Sugar Pancake Mix, Swiss Mocha Coffee Mix, and Streusel Coffee Cake Mix.

peppermint bark – This stuff was amazing! I never had it before, but will definitely be making it again. I purchased candy canes on clearance a few weeks ago so I will be all ready to next it at our next holiday season.

blueberry jam – I canned blueberry jam for the first time last summer and have given most of it away as gifts. Blueberries are not one of my favorite fruits, I can eat them fresh, and I do sometimes because I know they are so good for me, but I am not a big fan of blueberry flavored foods.

I did think of posting this before Christmas, but I was afraid that some of the recipients may read this, and I wanted them to be surprised.

My husband bought me a new sewing machine for Christmas. I am very excited about learning to use it and making gifts with it. And it will be the first sewing machine that I have used that is not older than me! I have been bookmarking sewing gift ideas and other sewing patterns whenever I see them, so I will have several options when I do start making things. But if you have any favorite or informative websites or books that you would like to recommend on the topic of sewing, please let me know.

One last gift idea I have is to make chex mix. My aunt makes us some every year, and it’s such a nice little snack to have on hand. There are so many chex mix recipes available.

Do you have any homemade gift ideas that you made last year or hope to make sometime?

Entry filed under: Canning, Do It Yourself, Family, Food, Gifts, Holidays, Organization, saving money. Tags: , , , , , , .

Blog Schedule Deals This Week: 1/11-1/17

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

