Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Organizing Recipes from the Internet

January 13, 2009 at 3:23 pm 2 comments

There are so many recipes out there. And I am frequently finding new recipes that I want to try. In order to keep these recipes organized, there are several things I do.

I have bookmarked tons of recipes online. I have a recipes folder, and then more specific sub-folders, such as breakfast, bread, snacks, freezer meals, budget, desserts, etc. Almost every time I see a recipe I want to try, I bookmark it and put it in the appropriate folder. If I want to make it in the near future, I will print it out. Sometimes recipes have a printer-friendly button option, which is nice to avoid wasting ink on unnecessary graphics and extra text. When this is not an option, I simply copy and paste the text into a Word document, as well as the URL, so I know where I found the recipe, and then print it out. Normally, I also save the recipe in my recipes folder on our hard drive.

After I print out a recipe, I will punch holes in it and put it in my three ring binder with other recipes I have printed out or clipped from magazines or newspapers. Up until the other day, there was no order to this binder. I took everything out, organized by type of recipe, including recipes that I either made and did not like or ones that I knew I’d never make. The latter stack, I threw in the trash if both sides of the paper were typed on, or if only one side of the paper had type, I kept the empty side for scrap paper. I hole punched the papers that did not have holes and put them back in the folder in the organized categories. I found some sticky tabs and wrote the categories on them so I can find my recipes faster.

Whenever I make a recipe, especially new ones, I will write the date I made it (on the paper or in the cookbook) and rate it. This helps me know if it is worth making in the future.

Entry filed under: Food, Organization, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Menu Plan Monday Works for Me Wednesday – Baked Oatmeal – Updated

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Becki@BlogMommas  |  January 13, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I like the idea of writing the date and rating it. 🙂

    Happy Tuesday!

    Reply
  • 2. Jill  |  January 14, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Great tip! My recipes stay in my favorites folder. It would be nice to have them printed out and all in one place. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

