Works for Me Wednesday – Baked Oatmeal – Updated

January 14, 2009 at 9:52 am 8 comments

One of my goals for this year is to stop buying cereal and switch to breakfast foods that are healthier and homemade. Baked oatmeal is something that is easy to make, healthy, and can be made in advance.

One recipe makes a 9″x13″ pan and will last for several days. I will bake it on the first day and then re-heat it as needed.

pict0006

Baked Oatmeal

1/2 c butter, melted (I have been using applesauce and it turns out great)
1 c brown sugar (I am trying to cut back on the sugar each time I make it, 2/3 c works fine)
2 eggs, beaten
3 c rolled oats
2 t baking powder
1 t salt
1 c milk

Cream together first 3 ingredients. Add all the rest to creamed mixture. Bake in 10″x10″ or 9″x13″ pan at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes. Can be mixed the night before. The eggs can be omitted.

Variation: use 1/2 c sugar and add raisins. (never tried this)

Microwave: Combine melted butter, 2/3 c brown sugar and eggs. Add remaining ingredients, using only 1/2 c milk. Place in 1 1/2 quart casserole dish. Microwave on full power for 6-7 minutes. Stir several times. (never tried this, I try to avoid using my microwave whenever I can)

The Basics and More Cookbook, page 7


This recipe can also be found on my recipe page. I also add ground flax seed, probably around 1/4 c. And there are so many changes that I can easily make. Sometime I would like to replace the applesauce with canned pumpkin. Adding chocolate chips would also be tasty, although not as healthy. Fresh fruit or dried fruit could also be added. The options are endless.

This baked oatmeal recipe is more cake-like and not mushy, unless it’s not baked long enough. Normally, I eat my baked oatmeal warm, in a bowl, with milk. My son prefers his not warm, but also in a bowl with milk, like cereal.

What are your favorite breakfast recipes?

Check out more Works for Me Wednesday ideas at Rocks in My Dryer.

Entry filed under: Food, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Organizing Recipes from the Internet Free Suave Product

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suz  |  January 14, 2009 at 10:12 am

    I just love baked oatmeal! They used to serve it at camp…. YUM!

    Reply
  • 2. Lorie  |  January 14, 2009 at 10:29 am

    I am not the biggest fan of oatmeal because of the texture, but I think I could handle this! I might have to give it a shot!

    Reply
  • 3. Aubrey  |  January 14, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    BAked oatmeal is probably my favorite breakfast. 1/2 c. sugar also is plenty. Especially when I top it (prebaked) with thinly sliced pears. Once baked, they are incredibly delicious on top and add some sweetness.

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  January 14, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    I love baked oatmeal!! The recipe I use calls for the juice and zest of an orange and it is fantastic!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Sweetie Pie  |  January 14, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    This sounds great! I appreciate you letting us know that applesauce will work. Butter is tasty, but my diet appreciates applesauce more!

    Reply
  • 6. lynn@queenofthecastlerecipes.com  |  January 14, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    This sounds yummy! I’m going to print it out right now 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Kim  |  January 15, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Question – does this turn out cake like? or mushy like reg oatmeal? How do you serve it? Scoop into a bowl and eat or do you add milk or anything after scooping? I think I will give it a shot. Thanks

    Reply
  • 8. Melissa D  |  January 15, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Also my favorite breakfast ever! My recipe adds dried cherries and almonds (a great combo but living in GA I usually add pecans). The nuts float to the top and get all toasty for a great crust!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

January 2009
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031