Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Checking New Recipes

January 20, 2009 at 10:16 am 3 comments

When you are planning to try a new recipe, double check the recipe thoroughly the day before you are supposed to make it, just to make sure you have all of the ingredients and to know when you will need to begin your meal.

Yesterday, I was planning to make pizza pockets. I double checked the recipe yesterday morning and everything seemed straight forward. Unfortunately, when I was reading over it when I was about to start supper, I saw that the dough needed to rise for one hour. If I had read it thoroughly in the morning, I would have noticed this and given myself enough time for the meal. Since we had plans last night and I didn’t have enough time to make this meal, I had to figure out something else for supper – we had bacon and eggs, since they were fast.

So my tip is to make sure you know when you need to start your meal each day. If you have a meal plan, perhaps you could put the prep time or make other notes so you know when to expect that day for your meal.

Check out other tips at BlogMommas.com.

Entry filed under: Food, Organization, Recipes. Tags: , .

Menu Plan Monday Clearance at JCPenney

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Becki@BlogMommas  |  January 20, 2009 at 10:25 am

    So true! I have had surprises when trying things too.

    Happy Tuesday!
    🙂
    Becki@BlogMommas

    Reply
  • 2. leahingram  |  January 20, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Good point. My kids decided to bake a cake this weekend, and I told them that before they poured out the milk or cracked the eggs to make sure they had ALL the ingredients they needed. (They did!) It’s a good reminder for everyone, young and old alike. Thanks.

    Leah Ingram
    http://suddenlyfrugal.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 3. frizia roger  |  January 21, 2009 at 4:03 am

    nice post

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

