Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Olive Oil Spray Bottle

February 10, 2009 at 5:00 pm 4 comments

tip-jar-button

Over the last few years, I have been using olive oil instead of other oils whenever possible in cooking. We purchased a rather large container of extra virgin olive oil at Costco, which was a great deal, and is lasting us a long time. One thing we did not like about the container was that when we wanted to pour just a little bit out, on top of pasta, it would come out way too fast, we would have too much on our plate, and would end up wasting some.

I had been on the look out for a spray bottle (specifically for EVOO) that I could put some olive oil in, which would keep us from wasting oil. I found a plastic spray bottle for $4 or $5 and it works nicely. Although I do still have Pam (cooking spray), when I finish it, I plan to only use EVOO in my new spray bottle. It will be cheaper, healthier, and less waste, since I will not be spilling too much EVOO, and I will not be throwing away a can each time I finish it, I can just refill my bottle.

It’s always great to find little ways to live more economically.

Entry filed under: Food, saving money. Tags: , , , .

Menu Plan Monday Wordless Wednesday

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. auntiequary  |  February 10, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Great Tip! I got one pump bottle called “oil-o pump” for my EVOO at Wal-mart a few years ago. I love it! This was before you could get the PAM-type in EVOO spray bottles. I went to buy another refill pump bottle recently and they no longer sell them – at least not the Wal-Marts I checked.

    Reply
  • 2. Becki@BlogMommas  |  February 11, 2009 at 9:41 am

    I would have never thought to use a spray bottle – brilliant!

    Reply
  • 3. Julie Bagamary  |  February 8, 2010 at 7:51 am

    Great idea. Are you talking about a regular empty spray bottle?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

