Food on Fridays – Natural Sugar, Grains, Strange Ingredients, and more

February 27, 2009 at 3:34 pm 2 comments

I have been spending a lot of time on the internet researching whole grains, healthy recipes, and price comparison. Passionate Homemaking has very insightful posts about eating naturally, which has spurred me to continue to look for new things I can do to incorporate nourishing foods into our family’s diet. A particular entry Variety in Your Grains has given me much to think about in adding more grains to our meals and baking. Azure Standard features quality bulk and natural foods; I requested their catalog a week or so ago and received it yesterday. The prices seem to be good, but I don’t know what the shipping costs would be, so that may make it not worth my while to order from them.

I feel very fortunate to have several local stores that carry many varieties of bulk food items, many of which are good deals. Sucanat is sugar in its most natural form. There is a lot of information out there about using natural sugars instead of the common processed granulated white sugar. This is something I hope to change in the next week or so, to use sucanat instead of processed sugar. These articles discuss various types of sugars and help you decide what will work best for you.

The Nourishing Gourmet: A Guide to Natural Sweeteners

A Nourished Kitchen: A Guide to Natural Sweeteners and How to Use Them

Passionate Homemaking: My Favorite Natural Sweeteners


Some other food-related links I have come across recently are:

5 Dollar Dinners – A mom who makes all her meals for $5 or less

Keeper of the Home – Artisan bread in 5 minutes is a beautiful thing

My Daily Diner – Jamie Oliver Proves It: Healthy Foods Raise Students’ Test Scores

MSN: Health & Fitness – You’re Eating…What? A guide to 7 sketchy additives that may be lurking in your food.

Whole Grains Council – The Whole Grains Council helps consumers find whole grain foods and understand their health benefits; helps manufacturers create delicious whole grain products; and helps the media write accurate, compelling stories about whole grains.

The Nourishing Gourmet – Tips for Newbies

I hope some of these posts and tips can help you find new ways to eat better.

Entry filed under: Food, Health, Organization, Recipes, saving money. Tags: , , , , , .

Booking Through Thursday – Collectibles Link Love: Home, Clothes, and Money

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  February 28, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Hey trish. Love these posts about foods lately. I have also been checking out the noursihing gourmet website. One big thing is soaking your food, it really helps you to digets the food better. In about two weeks I think I will have be switching over to the makers diet. (I am sure this will be a slow process, going it alone) I am on my own. Hubs announced that he will not be joining. So it will be hard at first, but it will get better. I also need to get us switched over to raw milk. I read the review and got info from the welsh mountain farm, I want to talk to pam about it, I think I recall her talking about it. I’ll let you know.

    Reply
  • 2. T2  |  April 3, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    just stumbled on your site and wanted to say thank you. very informative

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

