Works for Me Wednesday – Macaroni and Cheese

March 25, 2009 at 10:41 am 3 comments

wfmwbannernew

Macaroni and cheese is one of my favorite meals. It’s easy to make, uses only a few ingredients, tastes great when reheated and freezes well. My mom gave me this recipe:

Macaroni and Cheese

1 cup noodles (I normally use elbow noodles, and actually use a whole box, 16 oz)
1 cup milk
1/2 lb extra sharp cheddar, grated or cut into small chunks
2 tablespoons flour

Cook noodles in boiling water 7-9 minutes. Drain. Stir in flour. Add milk. Stir in cheese. Cook over medium until cheese melts and the sauce becomes thick. Watch closely. (When I use extra noodles, I usually add some extra milk, flour, and cheese. Sometimes I only have sharp cheddar on hand, and that works fine. Other types of cheeses work well also, it depends on what taste you want.)

I normally also make stewed tomatoes to go on top of the macaroni and cheese.

Stewed Tomatoes

Cut up one large tomato, put in blender. Add 1 tablespoon cornstarch and 2 tablespoons of sugar. Cook until thickened. (If you use more tomatoes, add more cornstarch and sugar. Use less sugar if you don’t want the stewed tomatoes to be sweet or vice versa.)

Check out more Works for Me Wednesday tips at We Are THAT Family.

Entry filed under: Food, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Mugs for Storage Booking Through Thursday – Best Bad Book

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  March 25, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Looks like I found what I’m making my kids for lunch today, thanks!

    Reply
  • 2. jubilee  |  March 25, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Mmmm . . . love me some mac and cheese!

    Reply
  • 3. Maren  |  March 25, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Thanks! Looks good, I often throw salsa in our mac and cheese for flavor

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

