Menu Plan Monday

April 20, 2009 at 3:52 pm 2 comments

Happy Monday! I hope you are having a great beginning to your week. It’s rainy today and I have not gotten as much as I would have liked so far today, but that seems to be pretty normal, unfortunately. I did take care of some much needed things on my “to do” list, so that is a start.

My menu for this week also includes a meal for today. I had planned to make fresh pea soup from the Simply in Season cookbook, but my husband is not especially fond of peas and out-voted that recipe. Oh well. Perhaps he will be more interested in it at a future date. I was just trying to use items we have (frozen peas) and incorporate more vegetables into our meals, such a difficult thing to do! I’d be happy to hear any suggestions of how you get your recommended amount of vegetables each day.

Monday: ham and green beans with homemade biscuits

Tuesday: tangy tender chicken (Quick Cooking magazine, I forget which edition) and salad

Wednesday: leftovers

Thursday: pork fried rice (using leftover rice from last week), steamed veggies

Friday: pizza (using the extra frozen crust from last week’s menu – Feasting Naturally – orange binding – page 75), salad

Saturday: chili, homemade cornbread, salad or steamed veggies

Sunday: leftovers

Monday: macaroni and cheese with stewed tomatoes, salad or steamed veggies

Entry filed under: Food, Organization, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Food on Friday Deals This Week: 4/19-4/25

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Niki  |  April 20, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    I just love Quick Cooking mag! They always have neat stuff to try in there.

    🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Christy @ ContemplativeMom  |  April 20, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Looks great! Your tangy chicken sounds really good.

    About veggies, I have started “hiding” veggies in sauces and wherever I can. Not deceptively, but just cutting them up really small so they aren’t noticeable. For example, I grate carrots and cook them until they are soft, then mix them in to sauces and soups.

    We also eat a lot of salads to help get in all our greens.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

