Booking Through Thursday – Worse?

April 30, 2009 at 10:35 am 3 comments

btt21

Which is worse?
Finding a book you love and then hating everything else you try by that author, or Reading a completely disappointing book by an author that you love?

I think finding a book I love and then hating everything else by that author is worse than reading a disappointing book by an author I love.

Some examples of this – I read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë and absolutely loved it. Then I read Villette by Charlotte Brontë and had such a hard time understanding the main character. I thought I understood her, but then she would do something and I was left confused. Charlotte has two more novels, but I have not read them yet. I plan to, but am a bit hesitant, since I don’t know if I’ll enjoy them or not…

John Grisham is one of my favorite authors, but I was disappointed by A Painted House, Skipping Christmas, and Bleachers. I have read almost all of his legal fiction, and enjoyed those books, although some on different levels.

I was definitely more disappointed to not like Villette than I was not liking A Painted House.

View more responses to this question at Booking Through Thursday.


While looking over the complete list of books John Grisham has written at Wikipedia, I noticed that he has another legal fiction novel due out this year in October. Yay!

Entry filed under: Books. Tags: , , , .

Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Bargain and Clearance Items Food on Friday

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Popin  |  April 30, 2009 at 10:41 am

    I said the opposite. I thought it would be harder reading a disappointing book by an author you love, since you’ve formed an attachment to the author and books.

    ~ Popin

    Reply
  • 2. Jessica  |  April 30, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    I understand about liking books on different levels. Out of all the series I read, there is always one favorite that sticks out.

    Reply
  • 3. Nise'  |  April 30, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    I have not read Charlotte’s other books. There have been a couple of John Grisham’s that just didn’t do anything for me. But I keep reading him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

