Booking Through Thursday – Graphic

May 7, 2009 at 7:25 pm 2 comments

btt21

Last Saturday (May 2nd) was Free Comic Book Day! In celebration of comics and graphic novels, some suggestions:

– Do you read graphic novels/comics? Why do/don’t you enjoy them?
– How would you describe the difference between “graphic novel” and “comic”? Is there a difference at all?
– Say you have a friend who’s never encountered graphic novels. Recommend some titles you consider landmark/”canonical”.

Currently, I do not read graphic novels or comics, but I do really enjoy comics. Peanuts and Calvin & Hobbes are my favorites. I have a few Calvin & Hobbes books that I pull out every once in a while when I need a good laugh.

I don’t know for sure, but I am guessing a graphic novel is basically a book made out of comics, where as comics are normally very short, such as the ones in the newspaper.

I not opposed to reading graphic novels or comics, I just haven’t come in contact with them much at all. There are several movies based on comics that I really enjoyed, X-Men, Iron Man, and Spiderman, so perhaps if I do decide to check out graphic novels/comics sometime, I’ll look into these.

Check out more responses at BookingThroughThursday.com.

Entry filed under: Books. Tags: , .

Ultimate Blog Carnival Food on Friday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. christina  |  May 7, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    I’ve just begun my own personal exploration into the genre of graphic novels and find that I actually enjoy them (and I’ve never been a comic book kind of girl).

    I *highly* recommend Persepolis. It was my first one and is the GN that made me appreciate all others out there. Now I’m just searching through the recommendations from those who have more GN reading experience. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jessica  |  May 8, 2009 at 8:00 am

    I don’t read a ton of graphic novels, but I loved Epileptic by David B. It was just incredible.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

