Too Late for WFMW

May 9, 2009 at 4:56 pm 1 comment

I was too late for my Works for Me Wednesday idea this week. I just checked the website and it closed over an hour ago…oh well. I’ll try earlier next week.

It didn’t rain today, at least not during the day, so I spent most of my afternoon purchasing for and planting in my garden. Last year, I purchased several seed packets at a local store, they were on sale for $10 for $1, so I figured I couldn’t go wrong! I saved tons of individual size yogurt containers and started my seeds in them.

Outside, I planted two cherry tomato plants (from seed), two tomato plants (purchased today), two zucchini plants (purchased today), and two squash plants (also purchased today). My cucumber plants (from seed) are not planted in a large container on my deck. I do want to get a small trellis or something for them to climb up, since I read that is helpful. My Bibb lettuce seeds did not grow, so I am planning on buying some lettuce plants in the near future. I want to put them in some containers on my deck, this way I won’t have to worry about rabbits getting them. And my gardening book said lettuce does well in containers, so I guess I’ll find out soon if that is the case.

I purchased two basil plants (my basil seeds didn’t work), rosemary, and some pepper plants. If it doesn’t rain tomorrow, I’ll plant the rest of these plants. I really hope my garden will do well this year. My tomatoes didn’t work last year, almost all of the tomatoes rotted. And my zucchini plant started out nicely last year, and then died…I am hoping and praying for a better yield this year.

Do you garden? If so, what do you plant?

Entry filed under: Do It Yourself, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Food on Friday Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Extra Email Address

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Becky  |  May 12, 2009 at 6:43 am

    I love gardening! It is one of my favorite things to do. With all the rain and then the heat wave I’ve been a little slow at getting things planted. I do have my lettuce, onions, peas,beets, and radishes in.
    I’m trying several new things this year I put newspaper in between each row to hopefully help cut down on weeding and I’m going to try to grow some of my tomatoes upside down in buckets. I like your idea for your cucumbers I may have to try that also. How big is your container that you planted them in?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

