Works for Me Wednesday – Meadow Tea Concentrate

July 15, 2009 at 1:08 pm Leave a comment

wfmwbannernew

Meadow tea is a favorite summer drink of mine. Mint was always growing at my house when I grew up, and if I remember correctly, the mint was given to my parents by my grandparents who also grew mint. Whenever they (my grandparents) would move, they would dig up some mint and plant it at the next house. It’s very easy to grow, spreading everywhere quickly!

Even though I have always loved meadow tea, I struggled to make it the way I remembered it. It was either too weak or not sweet enough. Several months ago, a friend of mine mentioned she always made her tea from meadow tea concentrate and then sent me the recipe. It’s so easy, and I am so excited that I will now be able to drink meadow year-round! Currently, I have around 7 containers of frozen concentrate in my freezer.

Meadow Tea Concentrate
1 quart container stuffed tight with mint leaves (this is a lot of leaves). Wash and drain mint. Bring 4 quarts water to a boil in a 5 quart kettle. Put mint leaves into boiling water, using spoon to push down into water completely and remove from stove. Add 4 cups sugar, stir until dissolved. Let steep several hours or overnight.
In morning drain tea leaves, may squeeze lightly but not much. Strain into 4 – 1 quart containers, freeze. When making tea, add 3 quarts water to 1 quart concentrate to make 1 gallon.

If you have tons of mint leaves that you don’t know what to do with, try this recipe.

Read more Works for Me Wednesday ideas at WeAreTHATFamily.com.

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , , , .

Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Make Your Own Mix Deals This Week: 7/19-7/25

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

