Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Retractable Clothesline

July 28, 2009 at 1:34 pm 1 comment

tip-jar-button

For the last several months, or possibly a year, I have mentioned several times to my husband that I would like a clothesline in our backyard. Personally, I don’t like how they look, but I know it would be better for the environment, as well as our electric bill, if we had a clothesline to dry our clothes. My husband was not thrilled with the idea and tried to ignore it.

I decided to look online to see if there were options for something besides a regular clothesline. I was quite pleased to find retractable clotheslines. You attach them to the side of your house and they had between 1-5 lines to hang laundry from. Of course, after further research, it seemed that many of the retractable 4-5 line ones did not hold up well, according to various reviews. Many said the single line usually were sturdier.

clothesline

retractable

tree

After walking around my yard, I decided I wanted to get a single line, attach it to our deck, and hang the other end on a nearby tree. We went to our local hardware store and bought one, which was around $17. My husband found a bungee cord in our garage and wrapped it around a branch, so I won’t be scratching up the tree when I hang the clothesline on it.

So if you want to have a clothesline, but don’t want to have it up all of the time, look into getting a retractable clothesline.

Check out more tips at BlogMommas.com.

Entry filed under: cleaning, Clothes, saving money. Tags: , .

Booking Through Thursday – Preferences Works for Me Wednesday – Freezer Organization

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

