Booking Through Thursday – Recent Serious

August 6, 2009 at 9:33 pm Leave a comment

btt21

What’s the most serious book you’ve read recently?
(I figure it’s easier than asking your most serious book ever, because, well, it’s recent!)


There are actually two recent serious books I’ve read that I would like to share Last Child in the Woods: Saving Our Children from Nature Deficit Disorder by Richard Louv and The Cellist of Sarajevo by Steven Galloway.

I finished Last Child in the Woods this week and want to write a review for it soon. I had hoped to have one finished by today, but today is almost over and I didn’t even start to write a review…maybe next Thursday. Briefly, it was an interesting read and a book that I think everyone should read.

The Cellist of Sarajevo was given to me by a friend earlier this year. I don’t think I had heard of the book before I received it. I loved the cover, so I knew I’d have to read the book sooner than later. And the fact that cellist was in the title certainly helped – I played the cello in high school and would really like to get one someday and re-learn what I have forgotten…Although a sombering book, I am glad I read it. It is a work of fiction, based on factual events. It’s a good story, and is short, so if you are looking for a faster read, give it a try.

Read more responses to this question at Booking Through Thursday.

Entry filed under: Books. Tags: , .

Works for Me Wednesday – Keep Old Towels Food on Friday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

