Easy Homemade Cereal

April 15, 2010 at 10:45 am Leave a comment

Last week my husband requested that I buy cereal. We had just finished a box of Kashi cereal which I had gotten for free because of a coupon. One of my goals (that I started last year) is to stop buying cereal and make healthier breakfasts from scratch. I explained that most of the cereal is not only expensive, but also has terrible ingredients. The few decent cereals are super expensive and it would make it much harder for me to stay within my grocery budget if I were to start buying them.

I started looking through my More with Less cookbook and found a recipe for dry cereal. Basically, it’s 7 cups of dry ingredients (at least 2-3 cups rolled oats, then any mixture of the following suggestions: whole wheat flour, dry milk, corn meal, wheat germ, flax seed, etc.) Mix the dry ingredients up and then add 1 cup of liquid (any one or mixture of these: honey, molasses, butter, peanut butter, milk, etc.) Then spread on pans and bake at 300 degrees for 30-60 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes. Just keep an eye on it so it doesn’t get too dark or burn. After it has cooled, you can add dried fruit, nuts, etc.

The options are certainly endless for this cereal recipe. I used 4 cups rolled oats, 1 cup dry milk, 1 cup ground flax seed, and 1 cup table bran (wheat).

Today I plan to make more cereal and I may increase my liquids a little bit, since I like chunky cereal. My husband did enjoy this cereal, so I am glad to have found something that is easy and cheap to make, and can still allow him to enjoy his cold cereal.

Entry filed under: Do It Yourself, Food, Recipes, saving money. Tags: , .

Menu Plan Monday Menu Plan Monday (on Tuesday)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

