Homemade Christmas Gifts for 2010

January 6, 2011 at 11:05 am Leave a comment

Now is probably not a popular time of planning for next Christmas, however, I did want to share some easy homemade gift ideas. I would have posted these before Christmas, but then my gifts would not have been a surprise to those who received them.

I made several easy no-sew fleece scarves. I purchased my fleece from Joann Fabrics and spent around $1-$2 for each scarf. Instead of the recommended 7 inches wide, I did 8-10 inches.
These scarves were so easy and I will definitely be making more!

On the left, is a easy fringe fleece scarf. I used 3 layers, two of purple and green in the middle. This cost around $3-$4. I purchased some fleece to make a scarf like this for me, but didn’t get to make it yet…

Next to the scarf are holiday flannel dinner napkins. I cut out 13 inch squares, sewing the wrong sides together, leaving a few inches un-sewn, then turned them outside-in and sewed around the edges, closing the hole.

In the back are bath sugar cubes. I did not use any coloring, since I wanted them as natural as possible. I scented half of them with vanilla extract and the other half with peppermint extract.

Other Christmas gifts I made, but didn’t take pictures of:

bath salts (I used epsom salt and lavender essential oil)

I Spy Jars (I used old peanut butter containers, since I was afraid glass jars would break)

fleece tied blankets

no sew fleece dog toy (I spent $5 on fleece and made 3 toys. I did purchase black fleece with a dog bone pattern, but with the braiding, it was hard to tell what they were. In the future, I will choose either a very small pattern or just different colors.)

I really enjoyed spending time making these gifts. It was fun to personalize items, such as choosing just the right fabric for each person when I purchased the fabric for the scarves. This year, I will plan to make more homemade gifts and if possible, making them during the year, so I will not have such a full schedule during the holiday season.

Some gifts ideas I found, but didn’t use, but may use in the future:

homemade mustard and homemade ketchup

homemade limoncello

wine jelly

What did you make for Christmas? What homemade gifts ideas do you want to share?

Entry filed under: Do It Yourself, Gifts, Holidays, Pets, Recipes, saving money, Sewing.

Ways to Save Money on Food Menu Plan Monday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

