Menu Plan Monday

January 31, 2011 at 4:46 pm Leave a comment

Monday is my regular grocery shopping day. However, one of my goals this year is to stay within my budget, and my grocery budget for January is already used up. So I had to plan my meals this week using only items I already have. Obviously, tomorrow is a new month, so I can technically go shopping tomorrow, but I am hoping that I can just skip it this week. Normally this isn’t possible, since we like fresh produce, milk, and deli meat. I still have fresh produce from last week than I can use this week, and I will use frozen or canned produce too. We buy our milk from a local farm and got it on Saturday, so I won’t need it again until next weekend, which is in February. And usually, my husband eats ham and cheese sandwiches for lunch, but I didn’t have any lunch meat today. I planned ahead and hard-boiled eggs last night and made egg salad this morning. Of course, he ended up not coming up for lunch due to a meeting and his boss took him out for lunch, so he can wait until tomorrow for the egg salad. There was also some frozen pork BBQ that I am thawing that will make another good lunch alternative. I was quite pleased to make an entire meal plan from our pantry and freezer.

Monday: creamed chicken and rice with steamed veggies

Tuesday: creamy broccoli cheddary barley soup and hopefully some homemade bread

Wednesday: macaroni and cheese with stewed tomatoes

Thursday: chicken corn soup and leftover homemade bread if I made it on Tuesday…

Friday: extended family dinner, I will be making chocolate chip cookie cake

Saturday: leftovers or veggie frittata

Sunday: leftovers or egg sandwiches

Entry filed under: Food, Organization, Recipes, saving money.

Menu Plan Monday Menu Plan Monday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

