Works for Me Wednesday – Pick Your Own Strawberries

June 3, 2009 at 4:05 pm 1 comment

wfmwbannernew

Yesterday, my son and I picked strawberries for the first time this season. I know they are one of the “dirty dozen” but I am not aware of any pick your own organic strawberry patches around here. I also hope that because they are local, there will be less pesticides used on them, but I don’t know how I would find that out.

Picking strawberries is easy and something children can easily do. My son was very helpful yesterday and made the picking go much faster.

– I made strawberry shortcake last night.
– Hopefully tomorrow I will can some strawberry jam. (in the past I’ve made freezer jam, but I’d like to try canning it and see what the difference is. plus it will give me more freezer space, which is always nice.)
– With my new food dehydrator, I want to make fruit leather with some strawberries.
– I also want to freeze some strawberries.
– We have been enjoying eating fresh strawberries at lunch today and yesterday.
– On Friday, we are having company. I plan to make some type of dessert that uses strawberries, but I haven’t decided what yet. Possibly strawberry coffee cake

What do you do with strawberries?

Here are some more recipes to inspire you:

In Season Recipe Swap: Strawberries at TammysRecipes.com
Healthy Strawberry Recipes at EatingWell.com

Entry filed under: Do It Yourself, Food, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Tuesday’s Tip Jar – Slicing Strawberries Booking Through Thursday – Sticky

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Niki  |  June 3, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    We love pick your own farms!

    🙂

    I love chocolate covered strawberries myself.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe to Saving Money Ideas

June 2009
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930